On Friday afternoon, June 23, it was announced during the InJazz festival in Rotterdam by the Performing Arts Fund (Fonds Podiumkunsten) that Monica Akihary is the winner of the Boy Edgarprijs 2023, the most prestigious Dutch award for jazz and improvised music!

From the jury report:
“Monica Akihary is a musician who has been steadily building an exciting body of work for years, collaborating with many musical partners. She actively seeks adventure in these often daring collaborations and doesn’t shy away from exploring uncomfortable territory. With her ever-shifting course, she surprises musicians and audiences alike. Not only can she be seen at the most important Dutch jazz venues and festivals, but she also manages to establish an international presence. During live performances, she leaves a deep impression as an improviser and storyteller.”

The jury of the Boy Edgarprijs consists of:
Shishani Vranckx, Marieke Meischke, Bart Maris, Mike Bindraban, Adri Braat, Raluca Baicu, and Maite Hontelé. The jury was chaired independently by Cécile de Vos.

A first reaction from Monica:
“I am deeply honored and grateful to receive the most important music award for jazz and improvisation, the Boy Edgarprijs. This recognition and appreciation fuel my passion for creating music. It is a motivation for my ongoing dedication to music. I am truly moved by the granting of this honorable prize.”

Save the Date:
The prize, consisting of a monetary amount and the bronze exchange sculpture ‘John Coltrane’ by Jan Wolkers, will be presented on December 6 during an evening of celebration at the BIMHUIS in Amsterdam, where Monica will curate the musical program.

About the Boy Edgarprijs:
The Boy Edgarprijs is the most important award in Dutch jazz and improvised music. The prize is named after the Amsterdam jazz trumpeter and big band leader Boy Edgar, who made a significant contribution to the recognition of jazz as a high-quality art form. Since 2022, the Performing Arts Fund NL organizes the selection process and awards the prize annually to a performing musician who contributes in a special way to the genre.
The prize is supported by Buma Cultuur, Sena Performers, and North Sea Jazz. Previous winners of the prize include Ronald Snijders, Ack van Rooyen, and Tineke Postma.